Money or different life?

Here’s a rant on my current situation. I write this at work where I make quite a lot of money and I stand to make a lot more as I advance in my career. I’m a graduate from the most prestigious business school in Sweden and people would kill for my job. Work is pretty boring and even though I’m about to change department in a week (I’m a trainee) I’m not so sure about how I feel about being stuck in the office “for life”.

Except for living 6 months in Taipei 2 years ago I’ve been living in Sweden all of my life. Stockholm is a great city in many ways but I’m fed up. There’s no sense of adventure at all. There’s no sense of spontaneity at all.

Now me and my (Taiwanese) fiancée are discussing a move back to Taiwan. I would give up my job. I hardly know any Mandarin. But I think that I might enjoy life more.

What would you do? Is there anyone here that has made “the jump”? I’m not expecting that many answers but at least the rest of my day at work will feel a bit better now.

Why would people kill for your job if its boring? Why wouldn’t you be able to just go back to it if you came to Taiwan and decided you don’t like it here?

Just how stuck in the office are you?
You’re in the office, what 8 hours a day? How interesting and rewarding would the work you find in Taipei be?
What was exciting about Taipei?

Spontaneity’s probably got as much to do with how you deal with the environment as with the environment itself, doesn’t it?