Motorcycling in Taiwan - From square one

Hi all, I will start of with introductions, seeing how this is my first post. I am a Chinese language student in Taiwan. I’ve been here for a year and a bit, and probably plan to stay on for at least another one. Public transport is great in Taipei, but after a year I miss the old freedoms. Thanks to the excellent resources on this board, I know how to get a scooter license, and the pains of large-bore sport bikes in Taiwan.

So here is the problem.
I am a student who has never rode a scooter or motorcycle in his life. I am also not rich, or teaching English. I do have 5 years experience of riding old manual Hondas in the icy streets of Montreal, and a very open mind when it comes to learning.

I would like to learn how to ride a motorcycle (the manual transmission type, no scooters), and get properly licensed, in whatever order is needed. I do not really care what type of bike I ride, as long as it has some vestiges of reliability, is student-cheap, fits a 6’2 (188cm) tall male in reasonable comfort, and it would be really nice if a passenger could ride pillion in the future.

As far as I can tell, there is no clear information for real green newbies when it comes to learning Bikes here, from scratch, so any input is welcome. Even if you can just confirm that the standard 50cc-250cc scooter liscence is good for bikes, and a link to road saftey, I can try to teach myself (Or be horribly injured in the process). Either way, those green hills of Xindian have tempted me too long!

Many thanks!

Go talk to Alan Kao (manager) at Haveallmotor.com in Xindian. It’s the Suzuki/Kawasaki shop on the main drag. (02)2914-9589
He has great deals on used bikes, and can probably set you up with an instructor.
His English is near native, but he’s never been out of the 'wan.

I’m also 6’2", and all-day comfort on a moto at that height is hard to find. If you can find a used Versys or Weestrom, you’ll have the right ergos.