Movies That Make You feel Less Depressed After Watching Them

I can’t ever remember seeing a movie that made me want to fight. There have been times where I went to see a movie by myself feeling all depressed and came out feeling better. The most recent was when I went to Ximen Ding to see Contact. I don’t really care for Grodie Forster, but I went into the theater in a dark mood and left with a better outlook.

When I was a starving college student, the only movies I could afford were the US$1.50 second run ones and there was only one in town. So I didn’t have much choice. Movies that surprised me were Little Man Tate (another Gordy Froster movie) and Reversal of Fortune.

And then one movie that made me feel worse was One Flew Over the CooCoo’s Nest. I remember walking out of the theater and hearing one girl behind me say to her friend, “Now I fell like I’m crazy.” It is one of my all-time favorite movies.

Anything with Adam Sandler.

Damn, I can’t remember the name of this movie, but it made me want to leap out of my seat with joy after watching it. The one about the kid whose dad wants him to be a boxer, but he ends up becoming a ballet dancer. Oh, got it, Billy Elliot.

Great feel good movie.

Another warm tummy flick is The Full Monty. I saw this one in the theatre, and people were on their feet dancing in the aisles at the end.

And then there’s the one about the old fella that wins the lottery and dies, and his buddies try to claim the jackpot…eeeahhh…can’t remember the name…another Brit film though. Definately felt fuzzy and soft after that one.

That would be WAKING NED DEVINE.

And Rich, if you’re still into second runs, there’s one near the corner of Roosevelt and ShenSheng South Road.