MS Education vs Applied Linguistics/TESOL?

I’m currently enrolled in a 54 credit (2 year) masters program in education. It’s a dual certification, first year in K-8 general ed and the second year in K-12 ESL. Both require year-long internships in a mainstream and ESL classroom respectively and will qualify me to teach public school in either K-8 or ESL in my state in the US. The final degree I will receive is an “M.S. ED in Teaching and Learning.”

I’ve often thought about going back overseas, but I’ve heard that a lot of decent paying teaching jobs (not buxibans) are looking for applied linguistics or TESOL masters holders. I don’t even think the unis in my state offer these programs. My question is: If I have six years experience teaching ESL and multiple certifications, are the applied linguistics and TESOL masters really necessary? What would I get from them that I wouldn’t get in this bundled gen-ed/TESOL program?

These jobs would be adult teaching jobs, that require MA in TESOL, usually, no?

Gotcha. I’ve taught all levels in the past, but I’ve been thinking that if I decide to teach adults at some point, would I need this additional masters degree? Let’s be honest, a lot of these TESL courses are just common sense.

It depends on whether the

Well, in the case of TAS, there are teachers working there from all over the English speaking world, so does it really matter what country the teachers got their degree “from” as long as it’s an officially recognized English-speaking country?

I guess what I’m trying to do is find a short-cut between teaching ESL to high school students and teaching ESL to adults without having to pay through the nose for another %$#% masters. Unfortunately, it doesn’t look like it works that way.