Musical Teachers

I am an English teacher. I used to be a musician. Regardless of what teachers like, cough, cough, I won’t mention names, say, I think that there really is a place for songs in teaching English.

At this stage I am playing with an idea. Ok, I just thought about it. There must be enough of us out there to make some decent tunes for kids English. Not specifically connected to any system, but useful with any system.

No, I am not talking about Brian Funshine (D.B., you and those killer spiders had better stay the heck out of this thread :wink: )

For you, not spiders…you deserve better than that.

I think swamp trolls would be more appropriate.

Have you got your stage name yet? I have a few suggestions. :laughing:

Why not try something really new and make songs for adults learning English. The only music I know of designed specifically for that purpose is Caroyln Graham’s stuff, which is excellent, but there isn’t nearly enough of it.

What a great idea.

Would people buy it though, I mean, adults are so fussy.

Adults probably need more repetition than kids but are frequently not able to quit comparing, analyzing, judging, scheming, fantasizing… long enough to get enough of it. Music organized around themes or grammatical structures gets around that problem beautifully especially, and here is the great part, if it is actually good music. Carolyn Graham does it with what sound to me like rag time favorites and my adult students gobble it up.

To answer your question though “Would they pay for it?” to be honest not so far in my experience. They’ll pay me to teach it to them but they won’t make the effort to get out and buy their own. Perhaps I should just bring a few to class and sell them.

[quote=“Bassman”]I am an English teacher. I used to be a musician. Regardless of what teachers like, cough, cough, I won’t mention names, say, I think that there really is a place for songs in teaching English.