Need a proper business visa for India / FedExing my passport back to US?

I’m a freelancer and have a last minute job request in India (just over 2 weeks from now).

My research shows that the Indian E-Business Visa (which is a simple online application) may not properly cover my visit. Several articles online recommend getting the proper business visa stuck inside my US passport.

Apparently there are no places nearby that I can get an Indian visa without ARC or residence (i.e. Thailand) so I’ll have to send my passport to New York for the visa and have it sent back before travel. Seems there is just barely enough time to do it.

Questions…

This is ridiculous right?
Is there no other way to get a physical business visa for India?
What kind of delays or issues might I face with customs / FedEx?

Obviously I want to make sure I get my passport back in time for travel to India. But my biggest concern is if they lose my package/passport because I need to make a visa-run first week of December. And AIT’s website says it takes 3-4 weeks to process a passport renewals/replacements.

The whole idea of sending your passport outside the country you’re in seems sketchy and ill-advised to me. Anyone with some experience dealing with this?

I have been to India several times on both tourist/e-tourist visas, E-business and business visa’s.

They are constantly changing the requirements and conditions of the E-Visa but as far as I am aware as long as you do not need to stay for more than 60 days and are not getting paid vast amounts of Rupees an E-business visa should be fine. However I am sure you will have researched this better, as most of the info stated online is very vague and I am not sure of the nature of your work/compensation.