Need Advice on Teaching Kids!

Hi!

I’m a University student from Canada on vacation for the summer and have been asked to teach a couple of kids at their home for 1-2 hour sessions throughout the week.

I thought it would be alright as I’m not partcularly busy and would like to try it out. But I’ve never tutored before and would like to know how to go about educating them in english.

The parents have requested that I buy a story-book and read to them but I don’t think that should cover 2 hours, more like 30 minutes? However, I don’t know what to do with the rest of the time. Introduce words, play games? And what kind of games.

Funny thing is I feel more confident giving business presentations than teaching kids english just because I don’t know how they’ll respond.

thanks for any tips/links or advice!

It can definitely be tough to work one-on-one or in small groups with kids. A lot also depends on the age of the kids, their language skills, and their personalities. It helps if they’re already taking English class so that you can review what they’ve studied, expand on it, liven it up, etc.

For older kids, the parents probably want to see you doing “real” instruction versus casual conversation. You could work through a book together. There are some graded-reader style books with 1-2 page stories, comprehension questions, and a few other exercises. For variety, I’d consider playing some easy pop music and learning the words to the song. They could also do projects such as make a collage of their favorite things and then they tell you about it in English. You could have them tell the storyline of their favorite movie or make up a dialogue that the kids perform for you. You might get lucky and end up with diligent students who really prepare for class time and who like chatting in English.