Need advice pls, re: Independent contracting and Taxes

I am in Taiwan on a visitor’s visa, and have picked up some contracting work with a Taipei company which I do completely via email.

Other than an initial greeting, I have not stepped foot in the company’s offices for training or to do this work. As far as I am concerned, I am an independent contractor doing work via email on my laptop. While I am in Taiwan right now, I could very well be doing this work from anywhere else in the world (and may continue to do so after I’m gone).

The problem that arises is that I am told that the company is obligated to withhold 20% R.O.C. taxes. Whereas, I feel that I should be paid a full a gross amount as an independent contractor, with my own responsibility to make my own tax declarations in the appropriate jurisdictions.

Furthermore, how can taxes be withheld in my name if I don’t have a legal working status here? Is this not contradictory? Does it not also raise problems for my status in the country, as well as any attempt I might want to make to submit a tax declaration down the road to recoup this money?

I would greatly appreciate your advice regarding my situation. Thank you.

According to ROC Income Tax Law, income tax withholding should be made on income for work done in the ROC. Hence, it would appear that since your work is being presented to this ROC company, for use by them, and after presentation it must be deemed acceptable by them, whereupon they authorize salary payment to you, etc. it does indeed appear that this meets the requirements of work done in the ROC. (In a similar manner it could be argued that if you were submitting your completed work to the company’s subsidiary in Pakistan, then that IS NOT work done in the ROC. Of course, if the Pakistan subsidiary wanted to then transfer this “completed work” to the ROC Head Office, that would be their own concern.)