New Forum for Learners, Teachers and Users of Chinese

Hi all,

Not to take away from Forumosa, but since there is a lot of discussion on Chinese here that could probably be better categorized, divided, sliced up and analyzed to death without taking up Forumosa bandwidth, and including folks who are not necessarily only Taiwan-oriented, I’m rolling out the following (currently brand-spanking new and totally empty :blush: ) forum:

http://learnchinesewith.us/forum

Feel free to pop over, register, and post. It will take some time to get a critical mass going, but I plan to promote the site to colleges and schools of Chinese, institutions that teach interpreting and translation, the American Association of Chinese Teachers, and anyone else you can suggest. Obviously, as I’m a mild-mannered translator not a programmer, it’s a work in progress, but your contributions will be its lifeblood, so post early, post often! :smiley:

Oh, yeah…and to point out the bugs!!! :noway:

For instance, I keep getting un-logged-in when I try to post…what’s up with that?

I’m sure you already put a lot of work into the forum, but I have to ask what’s wrong with http://www.chinese-forums.com that made you want to start another forum?. It’s not focused on Taiwan, just Chinese.

Nothing wrong with it, but I haven’t frequented it. I’m not familiar with it.

We do have both Carrefour and Costco, Forumos and TaiwanHo, don’t we?

Dear Ironlady,

Why don’t you add some content to your web site to attract some “eyeballs”?

Unless, you want your web site just to be a forum site.

Kobo-Daishi, PLLA.

Got any you would suggest? I haven’t got time lately – busy buying a house and trying to make a living!! :smiley: Good idea, though.

–IL

Dear Ironlady,

Have you ever been to Adam Sheik’s Chinese (Cantonese) Help Sheets web site?

According to a post by the webmaster Adam found at this web page:

http://www.cantonese.sheik.co.uk/phorum/read.php?1,33763

Adam wrote: