Newbie questions

hello all,

(i also posted this in the “salary” topics post, i hope that isnt a problem)

I’ve recently decided I’d look into the possiblility of teaching in Taiwan. a few months ago i completed my service in Peace Corps and am looking for more opportunities to work overseas. i taught English while i served in honduras and enjoyed it a lot.

the point of this post: I found an ad on another site for the “taipei oxford international school”. it’s a salaried position (NT$60,000+bonuses for approx 40 hour work week). the write-up sounded pretty good, lots of extras and a seemingly nice place to work. is this a realistic starting point for a newbie looking to teach in Taiwan? can i or should i start the ball rolling without ever having been there? am i crazy to set this kind of thing up before i visit the place?

anyone out there familiar with this school, good or bad rep? am i way off base here? as I said, I am new to this I am ready to get going. any advice you can give me would be great.

thanks for your time,
david

[quote=“Hondu Grease”]hello all,

(I also posted this in the “salary” topics post, I hope that isnt a problem)[/quote]
It is. Bad idea. Next time, don’t. Welcome to Forumosa.

That may get you hired some plcaes, but might not get you more money at certain schools. The school I work for now doesn’t count teaching experience outside of Taiwan when calculating pay. :loco:

Assuming the place has some people giving it the thumbs up it won’t hurt too much to go to a place sight unseen. On the flip-side, though, maybe you should line up a few interviews with multiple schools, come here, and then decide.

Do a little math: 60,000/160=375. If you are working 160 hours a month (40 a week) that is going to be very low pay here. Bonuses are not things you can count on. You can easily find a much better rate of pay than 375.