Newbie visa help -- need info on HK trip

So they gave me a 60 day non-extendable visa in LA and now my visa is due to expire in a week. I am currently a student at NTNU and have gotten a letter from them saying so, I should be able to get a student visa without any problems (I hope). Various people have told me that it doesn’t matter that the visa is non-extendible I can still get it extended, the police and the bureau of foreign affair also seem to disagree on what I need to do. One told me I could get it renewed by just changing my visa type, the other said I had to go to HK.

I have made a flight reservation for wedensday leaving Taipei at 7:40am and coming back around 10pm. Is that enough time to get a student visa ? Could someone give me a link on what I need beside passport pictures and the letter from the university ? Sorry if I am asking things that have been asked before, I am just feeling a bit stressed with having to make this trip.

Lastly where the heck is
Kwang Hwa Information and Culture Center in Hong Kong
40th Floor, One Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong.

is it easy to get to from the airport ?
thanks in advance for help.

1. Leaving it to the last week was not clever.
  2. The first place you should have asked was the school office.
  3. The police can’t extend an unextendable visa. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs can replace an unextendable visa with an extendable one. If they won’t do it, you have to go abroad for a new visa. If you have not yet gone in person to the MOFA Bureau of Consular Affairs, do so straight away - it could save you the trip to Hong Kong.
  4. There is no such thing as a student visa. You can get a visitor visa for the purpose of study.
  5. You can get to the Chung Hwa Travel Service (40th Floor, Tower One, Lippo Centre, No. 89 Queensway, Hong Kong) easily from the airport. Take the train (fast and expensive) to Central or the bus (slower and a lot cheaper) to the Lippo Building or Pacific Centre.