Nosy compliments?

Okay, I just wanted to see if anyone else has experienced this or if it’s just me.

I’m a white girl recently married to a Taiwanese man. As background, he’s pretty heavily tattooed so in general, people avoid talking to him. BUT! When he is with me, anywhere we go people will ask him about me. I can’t understand much Chinese, but every place inevitably says I’m pretty, asks if I’m from Europe or specifically from France, or asks how old I am or something like that. One lady in a store actually told my husband approvingly that I have a nice body. What is with that??? Uncomfortable! Completely random people, like other store patrons, feel that it is totally okay to interrupt our conversation to ask him if I’m French. One lady, a waitress, kept saying I’m pretty, and then told my husband that I’m French and I am a student. He said, “no, she’s American and she’s my wife” and the lady dropped her jaw. To make it weirder, I am not super pretty, though I am a bit odd looking. Also I am not even a little French, though I get that in the US too.

I’m sensible that people are complimenting me but I start to feel like my husband is walking around with a cute puppy instead of a wife. It’s normal to compliment someone’s puppy in front of them, it feels strange that they do the same thing to me. It’s really foreign to my experience. I just wanted to know, do other people have the same issue? How do you take it, annoying or flattering, or both?

It’s normal in Taiwan for people to talk about you right in front of you. Just be thankful they’re being complimentary - they will be equally frank if they think you are ugly or fat.