NSC funding for travel stipend unavailable for Taiwan PRs

The policy of the National Science Council (NSC) does not provide support for Taiwanese permanent residents.

I have been a legal taxpaying resident of Taiwan since 2001, and will soon be eligible to be a permanent resident of Taiwan through marriage to my wife who is a citizen. For six years, I was in the service of the education system as an English teacher until last year, when I began my studies for Master’s degree at National Central University (NCU). At this time, I am in my second year at NCU, and one of my research papers was accepted for publication at an international conference that will be held this year in Canada. My advisor suggested I must apply for a travel grant with the National Science Council (NSC) before inquiring about further financial support for travel from my university or department.

However, when I contacted the NSC about getting a travel stipend, they told me that travel stipends are only given to ROC citizens. Though overseas Chinese are also eligible for these grants, it is the express policy of the NSC that I am ineligible because of my country of citizenship, because I am not of Chinese heritage. Is there any way to protest this discriminatory funding policy? I have paid taxes for 6 years, but neither those taxes nor those of the people to whom I have been providing education can support my international travel as a student in Taiwan. I am worried about becoming a professor in Taiwan, since these same discriminatory policies will prevent my research endeavors.

Here is the email I received from the NSC:

Dear Tom Anderson:
Dear All: 請注意,僑生和外籍生等,不補助。 只補助一般生。 謝謝。

國立中央大學研究發展處
研究推動組 湯郁玲
電話:03-4227151#57022、57023
FAX:03-4276543
E-MAIL:apple@cc.ncu.edu.tw

----- Original Message -----
To: apple@cc.ncu.edu.tw
Cc: 王微琄 ; 楊遠輝 ; 謝宛蓁 ; 董湘興 ; 陳文俊
Sent: Monday, September 08, 2008 10:05 AM
Subject: FW: FW: 國科會大學生/碩士個人網帳號密碼確認函 - 2008/8/11下午 06:52:46

Dear All: 請注意,僑生和外籍生等,不補助。 只補助一般生。 謝謝。