NSR + 4 days off + driving around Taiwan= I need answers!

I have been searching this topic, and I couldn’t specifically find the answers I was looking for. So PLEASE give me some good feedback. This trip is set in stone already. First off I am experienced in long trips on a motorcycle, it is all good. I am not a newbie to motorcycles…had to make that clear. :slight_smile:

I have 4 days off and I am going to drive around the island this weekend. The trip is mainly for driving and not stopping too much. I am starting in Jongli (30 min Souht of Taipei) this Saturday early in the morning 6 or 7:00AM. Anyway I have lots of friends that are staying in Kenting for the 4 days, so I would like to get to kenting as fast as possible without killing myself. Can I make it in one day? What is the fastest route from Chongli to Kenting? From Kenting, I will be taking scenic routes up to Hualien. Do you have any recommendations for routes from kenting to Hualien? Can this be done. I have already been to Hualien twice so I don’t need too much time in Hualien.

I am mainly concerned about the trip form Jhongli to Kenting. Will I be too tired in one day, and what roads should I take…fastest possible. Any info will help thanks. Would the number 1 be a horrible choice, remember I am not looking for a scenic view I will get that on the East side.

PS: Mordeath, ya have any suggestions. You have made the trip like 5 times, dui bu dui?

Starting in Longtan, you can take the provencial highway 3 all the way to Pingtung…From there provencial Highway one to highway 17, which will take you all the way to Kenting.

The 3 is wonderful with the exception of Taichung…There is a shortcut around as the 3 runs right through the city. Maybe Joesax or Mordeth know a way around this mess.