Offered ARC for only 8-hours/wk at cram school

I’m totally new to the world of working in Taiwan, although I’ve been visa-running for years. Given the situation with the border I’ve applied to and found a cram school that needs a teacher for 8-hours per week.

I met with them and honestly they do not seem dubious or to be acting in bad faith. They’re in a tough spot with the limited number of foreign teachers, and my visa is ending in less than a month.

They said they’d apply for work-permit/ARC and put down 14 hours with the appropriate pay. When the new term starts they would give me more hours.

I’m not trying to cheat the system, but I’m under pressure to lock in a job on a tight deadline. Otherwise, this school seems like a good place to work.

So is this really a big deal? What’s likely to happen? What’s the worst that could happen?

Also, a different school I contacted about a position required home country background check. How long would that typically take for U.S.? Anyone have this done during the pandemic? I know lots of offices are closed or reducing hours so I’m suspecting there is not enough time for me to get this in hand.

Thanks all.

So… they officially give you 14hrs/week and pay you accordingly, while you just need to work 8hrs/week?

1 Like

I think it’s that all the paperwork say 14 hours, but I am paid for 8 hours. That also means my tax document would say 14 hours and I’d have to cover that probably.

If that’s the case, I don’t really care about the costs. I’m only doing this because the border is closed and NIA won’t give me any extension options.

If you are willing to pay taxes for 14hrs, you should be on the safe side. However I don’t know if the NIA would be happy about your arrangement if found out.

Maybe the day will come that they will care about this, but that day has not been seen in the past as far as I know, FWIW.

2 Likes