Okinawa Visa Run

I need to go to Okinawa for a visa run to get a visitor visa. What do I need to take with me? How long will it take? Please help. I’ve never done a visitor visa run before.

Thanks Ryan

You could ring the Japan Taipei Office of the Interchange Association (??? Japanese Chinese English???), in other words the quasi-consulate in Taipei on 02-2713-8000 according to my book and ask them - surely they’d know. Then you need to ring the office to check if their rules have changed. I remember they were good with me - took about two days, but it’s a good idea to stay longer because it’s a nice place, and perhaps the officials treat you better if you look like you’re on a holiday. It’s possible it’ll take less time if you get there in the morning - ask them all those details.

I’ve found their telephone number: 81-98-862-7008.
And address: 6F Alte Building, 3-15-9 Kumoji, Naha (City), 900-0015, and email: sino-ryu@ryukyu.ne.jp

The office hours are/were Mon-Fri 08:30 to noon and 1pm to 5pm.

You can easily get from the airport to the main town area on a train, and the office is a few minutes’ walk from a train station - very conveniently placed.

I’d recommend staying at the Shinkinichi Ryokan, but a nice large room is around Y4000 and a very small but clean one with shared bathroom perhaps Y3200.

Do you have any information on the hotel?

Oh no, not another Okinawa visa run thread :unamused:

Edit: Not only did you not search for existing information on this topic, you also simultaneously started two threads on the same subject, one in the work forum and . Please don’t do that!!!

The hotel: you should be able to find somewhere to stay - that’s not your main concern, as there are places near the visa office. Just focus on getting there first.