Opportunities for non-native English speakers

Hi there!

I’m a fellow with some grasp of the English language, looking to teach in Taiwan. Yes, this isn’t as good as if I were to be from the states or the UK, but should be just fine if the market demand is there.

So, what are the options for someone like myself? I should add that I have a BSc in Computer-Science and of pinkish/white/transparent-when-the-sun-is-strong-enough complexion. A URL would be great as well.

Thanks in advance,
John.

Depends on whether you want a job or legal status here.

Jobs are plentiful. Just knock on the door of almost any kindergarten, and you’ll have little problem, especially with your oh-so-acceptable complexion. :stuck_out_tongue: I’ve even been on interviews to kinders with non-native-speaking friends of reasonably light complexion and the non-nativeness was not even an issue.

It’s possible you might have more luck in a smaller place – law of supply and demand, etc. However, since to my understanding ALL kinder work is illegal, I guess you’re pretty much on a level playing field with anyone else.

To get a work visa, however, you are required by law to hold a passport from an “English-speaking country”. In a similar vein, I was once offered a job teaching Spanish, but could not accept it (that is, could not qualify for a work permit for that job) as I could not produce a passport from a “Spanish-speaking country”.

How disappointing :frowning: Is there no work around?
I definitely would not want to work illegally.

Thanks for the prompt reply ironlady…

Gibson

You don’t say which country you are from.

You can always tell a prospective employer you grew up in the States, or your mom was from the States, etc. I’ve known people from Iceland here who tell students they “grew up in Boston”.