Order of Operations for a first timer to Taiwan

I’m an English language teacher from Australia looking to move to Taiwan in July with my (Taiwanese) girlfriend to work.

Just want to make sure I’m correct on the (rough) order of operations here:

-Find a job (online most likely)
-Employer will help with work permit
-Work permit, then > ARC
-ARC = can live and work in Taiwan, just renew every year?

At which point do I need to be in Taiwan? Can I be there before I get a job? Do I need a return ticket when I first go?

Thanks!

I think you can be here before you get a job but you will have to leave to convert your Visitor Visa to a Visa with a Work Permit

Can the OP apply for a Work Permit before coming to Taiwan? Or does he have to come in to Taiwan as a Visitor no matter what and then plan a Visa run?

If you are Australian or certain other nationalities, you may not need a return ticket when you land because you may be able to apply for a 30-day? Landing Visa on Arrival. You would then plan a Visa run to HK and get your Visa with Work Permit there at that time

Your flow chart is correct. If this is for buxiban work, I wouldn’t sign a contract before being in Taiwan and visiting the school personally. You can certainly be in Taiwan and get a job after arriving, which I recommend.

Regarding visas: Australian citizens can enter Taiwan Visa-Free for 90 days (This is not a “Landing Visa” which is not applicable for most people). Airlines will probably ask you for an outward ticket dated within that 90 days; you can buy a refundable ticket to anywhere like Hong Kong, then cancel that ticket once you have a job and your ARC in process.

English teachers (“white collar workers”) can take their Work Permit and get a Visitor’s Visa, then take that to get their ARC, without leaving Taiwan, as long as this takes place within the 90-day Visa Free entry period. See “Notice, Part 7” https://www.boca.gov.tw/cp-166-276-48430-2.html