Over qualified, too expensive, or from the wrong field?

I have a master’s degree in education, am certified in 3 areas as a teacher and as an administrator, and am finishing my doctorate in education. While I’ve been responsible for all the content areas, I was teaching as a special educator, and I know some HR groups from non-USA countries don’t get that a special educator would have covered those topics. I’ve only taught for a few years, but that seems to be more than most people who I’ve seen getting jobs on various sites. Also, I’ve spent a few years training teachers.

I’ve had a few offers to take jobs with entry level pay, but that’s not affordable due to my student loans.

I’m having trouble finding a solid job in Taiwan. Does anyone have any suggestions as to why I might be struggling to get a job in Taiwan?

I’m not sure…are you applying to universities? You won’t make much teaching in Taiwan anywhere really, and qualifications and experience don’t usually equate to a great deal more of a salary.

More importantly though, why Taiwan? If you are open to going elsewhere, you could bring in a heck of a lot more money!