P.G. Dip. not accepted for work permit

Just wondering if any of you fine people can offer any advice. I had an ARC issued last year (2005) by submitting my P.G. Diploma, from an English university. Recently I’ve had to apply for a new work permit, but they’ve turned it down, giving two separate reasons:

1. That the diploma is a certificate of attendance but not graduation. (This is wrong, the diploma clearly states I have successfully completed the program and been awarded the diploma)

2. That the university is not an approved university. (It is actually a pretty major and well established one in the U.K.)

I don’t have a B.A, I have a National Diploma, and Higher National Diploma, and a Post Grad, which is equivalent to an M.A. As I mentioned, I had no problems getting a work permit last year with these qualifications.

I’ve got the number of someone in the Bureau of Employment and Vocational blah blah of Labour Affairs etc who can speak English and has promised to look into it…she promised to call me back yesterday, and predictably didn’t. No suprise there…I’ll be hassling her like crazy on Monday. Just wondered if anyone had any thoughts on how to proceed.

Which uni did you do your postgrad at?

Repeated appeals might help.
Typically, the responsible official (in this case, the reader/arbiter of diploma and degree veracity) holds their position because they have convinced their superiors that they’re an “expert”, and in typical Taiwan bureaucratic fashion, nobody else, including those who hired/placed them, is capable of judging their competence.
Who’s he?
He’s Supervisor Chen, the (local) English supervisor.
Who hired him?
Manager Lin.
Manager Lin doesn’t speak English.
That’s right, that’s why we got the supervisor.
So how do they know the supervisor is qualified?
Manager Lin says he is.

The guy at the DOE probably has zero experience with any post-secondary system other than the standard US Bachelor/Master’s/PhD lexicon.

2 true stories: