Parking lot - discrimination for being a foreigner

Long story short: the company that manages the parking lot where I’ve been parking my car for years is asking users to join a lottery for assigning again parking spaces, so I may or may not keep my monthly access as a registered user. Since I’m a resident in the li (tai?), I also have a discount. However a friend talked to them yesterday and brought up the discount, the guy at the counter talked to someone and got back to us saying that ssince I’m a foreigner I’m not eligible to said resident discount. “New rule”, he said. I say bullshit.

In case I cannot deal with this on my own with another guy at the parking lot who isn’t retarded (his supervisor or coworker told us one time this guy is an idiot xD), is there a government office dealing with xenophobic discrimination or something like that? I kinda remember reading something along those lines.

4 Likes

They pretty much work pro discrimination.

1 Like
7 Likes

Love you tando!

Is there any people I can talk to in person?

assuming you live in taipei

2 Likes

or

https://nhrc.cy.gov.tw/en-US/petition

or

Administrative Litigation Act

if your live in ntc,

https://foreigner.ntpc.gov.tw/home.jsp?id=70&parentpath=0

4 Likes

What a prick eh.

2 Likes

Just talked to them, different people from yesterday same bullshit. I asked them to show me where it said discounts only applies to nationals, there’s no such rule written anywhere but they use as an excuse that the application rules say you need to show your your id card.

Problems with this:

1. In the English version of the simplified rules they do translate it as “resident id card” lol
  2. Since the rules in Chinese say national id card, and no ARC or APRC anywhere, and following their logic, I couldn’t apply to the normal fee parking space either

I asked for a document stating that the discounted fee was denied. Will contact the government soon, but it’s CNY!

5 Likes