Paying tax before the work permit arrives

Hi everyone

I understand that in the ‘olden days’ it didn’t matter where you worked, or on what visa, so long as you paid your taxes. Now that they are cross-checking incomes I wonder whether they are also cross checking visas and work permits too?

Here’s my situation:

I work at a private High School, which as a certified teacher I am legally allowed to do. I arrived in mid Oct last year, and started working (quasilegally / ilegally?) while my work permit was being processed, which took about one and a half months.

My employer (ESL Dewey) tried to double-tax me at the time, and it took hours on the phone to explain that I understood the rules and insist they tax me correctly; otherwise I’d be out by thousands by now, but that’s another story. So I’ve audited everything carefully since. I occasionally find “mistakes” (always obviously deliberate, and of course always in their favour) but they always apologize and pay me what they owe as soon as I find it. So when they asked for my passport and ARC, saying that they would go and get my refund and deposit it into my account, I refused, saying that I would do it myself, and asked for the tax receipt.

They just gave me my tax receipt on Monday (9th June). They have only registered tax for December (after I got the work permit, which makes sense) but they deducted tax for October and November, before I got my work permit. (Interestingly, last year I had to be very persistant to get pay receipts showing my income and deductions.) They have not responded to my questions about this.

I would like to go down to the tax department with my tax form and their pay receipts for the months they deducted tax but did not declare it and tell the tax department everything which has happened.

My questions

1. Will the tax department chase up Dewey for the tax on my earnings before I got my work permit?