Pengjia Islet - Pengjia Islet (彭佳嶼) Off Limits to Foreigners

Hi,

I would like to travel to PengJiaYu 彭佳嶼 。 There are a few tours going there, but the tour operator refuse to take me because I am not Taiwanese. I was told Wai Guo Ren Bu Xing 外國人不行 . I am a APRC permanent resident living in Taiwan for 12 years.

Honestly I am growing tired of this hearing this sentence WaiGuoRenBuXing 外國人不行.

Regards,
D

1 Like

I’ve not heard of this place before. Is there any reason to actually go there?
Anyway that’s not racist, just xenophobic :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Nothing to do with racism I would assume. I will change the title of this thread.

Probably more to do with security and/or safety concerns.

Didn’t know that there are tours up there. Is this something new?

Maybe you didn’t get the full details and story.

Supposedly it is under Taiwanese military control and cannot be visited by ordinary citizens.

And they occasionally make special arrangements for special groups with special approvals with yada yada yada

3 Likes

It is under Taiwanese military control and cannot be visited by ordinary citizens.

3 Likes

It can be visited. You can book a tour, and land on the island. I booked a tour together with my wife - But I was rejected later because of my race. They said my wife can continue to go. I find is very weird that my wife can go, but myself who is a permanent resident living here for 12 years - I am blocked for going because I am a foreigner. I tried explaining that I am not a foreigner, that I am actually a legal tax paying permanent resident of Taiwan, but I was corrected and told I am indeed a foreigner, so I cant got.

The reason I have received is “waiguorenbuxing”

4 Likes

Wrong.

So the standard might be only Taiwan citizens, partially to keep the Chinese waiguoren communist spies and random foreign protestors at a distance.

1 Like

There is a difference between race and nationality. Has nothing to do with your race.

9 Likes