People asking you to be on commercials?

I’m new to taiwan and studying mandarin at shida. Going to school today 2 random people came up an asked if i wonted to be in a commerical. The conversation didn’t go far tho when they found out I had no ARC. Is this legit? it’s happened 3 times so far in the last week an I’m curious why they are coming to me. Has this happened to anyone else?

Not to me but to my son who’s less than a year old.

What was the commercial about?

Not having an ARC does not mean you can’t work in commercials. The agency that represents my acting career is always getting students work permits for legitimate gigs. That these street recruiters are worried that you don’t have one is both a good sign and a red flag, imo. It’s a good sign that they aren’t sending people out to sets without work permits, but raises the question as to whether they really know what they are doing in that they don’t know that students are able to legally obtain said permits. In fact, students are the ideal models in that they are usually more readily available to work the odd hours this business can demand.

When considering this kind of work, you should have a reputable agent to not only protect your residency, but to ensure that your image doesn’t get splashed all over Asia in all forms of copy and paste advertisements without proper compensation.