Plan to stay, thinking of Chinese study and work

I’m thinking a lot. If you don’t mind, I’ll write out my situation and anyone can chime in with advices. This kind of thing helps me plan even with no reply.

I’m a 30 year old man from San Diego, California, USA. Right now I am in Taipei on the 90 day visa-less passport stamp, staying with friends. I like Taiwan a lot so far, about 2 weeks in. I don’t know how culture shock will appear yet. I have some friends here through a big international church (of Christ). I have a bundle of money saved up. I’ve never tried to learn Chinese before.

I was working as an engineer for 5 years, want to try something radical new. In performance reviews they always said I should have more personal skills. Sometime I think I’ll want more money and want to be an engineer again. I wonder if staying in Asia would be possible.

I’ll need to go to Hong Kong to get a real visa. ARC is also on my mind. Looking up these things is slow.

I like teaching teenagers in day-long volunteer activities, maybe I’ll like the 3-6 year old range. I wish there were more of a way to test it out before signing a year contract with some big chain. HESS and Saxon seem to like me, they both have training times coming up. I thought I’d go for a cheap online 120 hour TEFL just to get confident.

The other thing is I could try to study Chinese full time. NTNU accepted me. I hear it’s only good for beginners. They have the study visa. I have enough savings, although it would get uncomfortable. I can afford to study for a year before they would let me work part-time. Scholarship might be cool, but would be annoying to go back to the USA for it. I wonder if they’d even consider a 30 year old dude. I have a MS in ECE though, my GPA was 3.27 from UCSD (not the most excellent).