Planting a new vineyard in Taiwan, French wine & French rice wines

Hey, I am a French producer in a family making red wine in Bordeaux region of France for 200 years and I plan to plant a vineyard to make a quality wine in the Central Taiwan.
I also make a French rice wine from Provence rice in Provence. It has medals, prices, sold in many Michelin restaura

8 Likes

I pushed the wrong button … Message was sent before I finished it.
I was saying … yes … my French rice wine is sold in France and Asian countries like Japan, Singapore, Hong Kong, Macau or China but not yet in Taiwan. When it will be possible to travel again, I would like to make a tasting of them in Taipei & Taichung eventually.
So I look for a place to do that. Any idea?
I speak different languages, but my chinese until now is still quite poor.

1 Like

Hope you can make good wine, as it will hard to grow the same grapes well here.

You will need a temperature and humidity controlled greenhouse. Taiwan does not have a mediterranian climate, but a subtropical climate. Meaning most the year it will be too hot for grapes to grow well. If you got a greenhouse it will be cooking inside at over 50C as the greenhouse traps heat, killing plants unless you have air conditioning inside. It will not be cheap to do except small scale.

Consider indoor hydroponics.

1 Like

Thank you for your kind concern.
I have made a deep survey. I know the difficulties. It looks good so far.

Taichung wines have been winning awards.

I beleive that they are grown in Nantou region which is less hot.

1 Like

Do any posters work at the National Kaohsiung University of Hospitality and Tourism? When the semester starts you could put the the OP in touch with Chen Chien-hao.

No, I don’t need green house. But you are right that Taiwan is too hot and too humid in general. But, altitude will decrease the temperature, and I found a microclimate for the humidity.

1 Like

Thank you, but I don’t really understand what you mean.