Why do/did you stay in Taiwan?
  • Employment (teacher)
  • Employment (executive/white collar)
  • Employment (blue collar)
  • I’m studying here
  • I have a business here
  • I have a Taiwanese girlfriend/wife/boyfriend/husband
  • Covid refugee/hostage
  • I came intending to stay for a limited time (to teach, explore, etc.) and fell in love with Taiwan
  • I’d like to leave but can’t find an alternative location/situation that’s better
  • I wouldn’t have anything to complain about if I left
  • I’m Taiwanese!
  • I don’t know
  • Wait. This isn’t Thailand?!?
  • Other

0 voters

There’s no “I like it here” category.

21 Likes

That was my reason too.

3 Likes

Several for me… Came ago stay for a limited time and really liked living there, teaching for a few years, white color another few, hard to transition back after having been there a while…

2 Likes

My reasons are mixed. I first came for my Taiwanese guy, stayed because it’s so easy to live here, continue to stay because there’s no way I’m leaving during COVID… and also, just stayed so, so much longer than anticipated.

2 Likes

I came intending to stay for a limited time and would like to leave but can’t find an alternative employment that’s better.

4 Likes

I came for one reason without knowing how long I’d stay and then I changed reasons and I don’t know what to do anymore about this island that I love and hate.

6 Likes

Universal healthcare.

5 Likes

Taiwanese. Can’t go elsewhere. Immigration laws of various countries prevent me from doing that. Unless I’m highly wealthy/successful (I am not) those laws are designed to keep people like me poor. China is a possible option but I don’t know anyone there. I just hate that there are almost zero expat community in Taiwan and those that are here seems unfriendly. Maybe China has better expat community.

Foreigners are leaving China in droves.

2 Likes