Public vs. Private vs. International vs. University

Hi everyone, I am new to the forum and have enjoyed reading the wealth of information available. I’ve been living abroad in Asia for the past 12 years and have been working in the international school system. I am a qualified teacher from the United States and have both a Masters and Ph.D. I am considering relocating to Taiwan and have some questions about the different type of jobs available in Taiwan and their conditions. I would appreciate any information you might be able to share based on your experiences.

Public and Private Schools

Most public and private school jobs I see have standard wages that I assume are regulated across the country. From a teacher’s perspective what are the main differences in our daily work in these schools? For the public schools is it essentially an ESL role where you are teaching large groups of students with varying levels? Would there be homeroom teaching opportunities in private schools where you could have your own class of children and teach all subject areas? Also, what is vacation time like in these schools? I’ve read that vacation time in very little (10 days), but I have also read that some schools give one month breaks in the Summer in addition to two weeks during Chinese New Year. Is this not standard?

International Schools

Coming from the international school system I have a clear understanding of what school life is like for teachers. I am just wondering what are the typical benefits of let’s say a mid tier international school in Taiwan?

University Teaching