Pulled over and constantly asked if I was a teacher

I was pulled over last week(for going up a one-way - the wrong way on a scooter) and the policeman asked me about 5 times if I was a teacher. To which I implied no.

He also asked me what I did in Taiwan and if I spoke Chinese about 5 times.

As soon as I started telling him my business in Taiwan, he said I can go.

There was no mention the the road offense whatsoever.

Never heard of this before.

I got the impression he didn’t like teachers.

I have been pulled over on my illegal 50cc scooter countless times. I have never once gotten a ticket. They have never once asked for my license. I even got pulled over once in an illegal car and nothing happened. Once I was in an accident and dislocated my shoulder (it was the women’s fault, the police blamed her.) The police never asked me for any insurance or license, just my ARC. It is crazy isn’t it?

It’s possible he’s looking to nab an illegal teacher. Your admission could be enough to pin that on you; I have seen (literally) it happen before. Police have asked me the same thing in what I considered suspicious circumstances as well. New Years is coming. The received wisdom is that “quotas” need to be met before years’ end, which makes it more likely.

I think he was just bored and asking random questions…

[quote=“cake”]I was pulled over last week(for going up a one-way - the wrong way on a scooter) and the policeman asked me about 5 times if I was a teacher. To which I implied no.

He also asked me what I did in Taiwan and if I spoke Chinese about 5 times.

As soon as I started telling him my business in Taiwan, he said I can go.

There was no mention the the road offense whatsoever.

Never heard of this before.

I got the impression he didn’t like teachers.[/quote]

He probably just assumed you were a teacher (since that is what most people ass-u-me us crackers in Taiwan are anyways).