Python coding

Anyone experienced using python? How did you learn? I’m thinking about learning it to supplements my skill set and resume to set myself more apart.

Find a well-reviewed book and work your way through it. Should be a book with lots of examples and a good reference you can go back to once you start writing your own code. I’ve done this to learn C using C Primer Plus by Stephen Prata.

1 Like

I feel like a book is a bit old school, do you think it’s really the best way to learn coding. Surely there are some online programs to follow on your screen? What do you think?

Yes you can find online courses. Check out Coursera.org. I guess I’m old school tho. I like the pace and comfort of having something solid in front of me that is smarter than me, and try to soak it up. A book does that for me.

4 Likes

It’s ridiculously easy to learn self-taught, until you get into the advanced arcane features, which may not even be worth using.

All you need is on the Web for free, accessible via search engines.

I know a ten year old girl who’s learning Python.

1 Like
1 Like

Beware of Python 2 vs Python 3. The two are more different than they ought to be, and that causes confusion.

3 Likes

If you’re gonna buy a book make sure it’s updated (3e or later). It might be out of date already.

I don’t use books. I just look online for how to do a task.

1 Like

I’m a hack.

1 Like

Books are solid baseline references with sources and intentions that never change. Try that with your fancy internet, whippersnappers. :grandpa:

3 Likes

This is how books go out of date.

I’m jaded from books. There’s just too many bullshit books with rave reviews out there, as if people reviewing those books have already mastered the content and just use the books to refresh their memory.

At any rate, I’m a fan of those kind of interactive tutorials: