Python v's Alligator

news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/americas/4313978.stm

Must have been quite a struggle.

Interesting link. I am always interested in this kind of thing.

I used to be a biologist many years ago!
Interesting stuff. I wonder if it was just defending its nest or was it hungry ? perhaps the aliigator tried to eat it first. I guess however that the python crept up on it or was just lying in :bravo: wait.
Interesting stuff
Thanks

I recently saw a short video clip on TV about a tiger and a crocodile fighting to the death. I assumed, wrongly, that the tiger was going to lose, and wasn’t sure I wanted to watch the clip because of my love for cats in general.

The croc was trying to steal the tiger’s kill near the water and the tiger wasn’t about to let that happen. Very interesting short fight to watch. After a bit of dancing around, the tiger basically clamped down with it’s mouth on the back of the croc’s head and eventually killed it with enough force. I was impressed. Before the tiger got it’s hold on the croc though, the croc was thrashing back and forth and I’d imagine if it got a limb in its jaws, the tiger would have been done for.

Sounds like a good clip if you ever get the link let me have it please.

There was a short but interesting series on “animal planet” that asked scientists to predict who would win in battles between top preditors of different continents ie tiger versus lion etc. They then do computer simulations to find out the answer. They had the lion beat the tiger. At first i didn’t agree to that. But when they explained i was in total agreement. I think it got taken off the air as it was not exactly very PC. I found it interesting though and watched all of them. They also had shark versus salt water crocodile. All 'hypothetical" of course, but they got me viewing.

metacafe.com/watch/27392/tiger_vs_crocodile/

Here’s the Tiger V’s Croc video that Mer was talking about. Amazing stuff.