Q: What is it like in Taiwan?

HI! First post at this forum!! This site is very useful, given me much insight on Taiwan.

I’m a Australian-born-Chinese student, currently studying in Melbourne, Australia. I’m planning to go to Taiwan next year to study Mandarin for a few months. I was just wondering what you guys think of Taiwan. I visited HK recently, found the pollution unpleasant - may be i’m just use to the clean, fresh air Melbourne provides.
I’m very nervous about going to Taiwan, I dont know any Mandarin (but speak fluent Cantonese). So how did you guys cope with moving to Taiwan? If you had the choice, would you move to Taiwan again?
Lastly, any tips?

Thankx

My motivation for moving to Taipei wasn’t to learn Chinese (but I see that it is agood place to learn Mandarin). For work, I think it is dissapointing. And the quality of life in Taipei is very poor (it is an expensive city to live in, and little to keep you busy outside of the office). In my opinion, HK is an infinitely more liveable city, and Taipei has about the same level of pollution. I’d definitely suggest looking at the place first, before you decide.

If I had the time again, I’d have gone to Shanghai. It is 1000% more interesting than Taipei, and at least people have heard of it. There’s a reason why 400,000 Taiwanese are working in Shanghai.

Just my views, but although I like the Taiwanese a lot, I’m not intending to set up camp permanently in Taiwan!

Good luck with your decision & study!

i just moved here a little over a month ago to study mandarin at ntnu. i had been here many times before, so it wasn’t exactly like i was new to it. if you can’t handle the pollution, i’m not sure how you’d like living here. unfortunately, there’s quite a bit of air pollution. every once in a while you catch a whiff of a strong sewer smell. and the streets and buildings will not be anywhere as nice and clean as the stuff you’re used to seeing in oz.