Quality of Expats, & Their Comedy in Taiwan

I am fairly new to Taiwan but I have to say, based mostly on the blogs I have read, the posts on this site, and the few I have talked with that many of the visitors to Taiwan are thoughtful and smart people. I have been impressed with the quality of the insights written about in the blogs and that people aren’t just staying at the surface level of this culture… They are searching for a deeper understanding. I understand, there are also the stereotypical asshole foreigners with big ego’s but I have been lucky to stay away from them from them. So I just want to say congratulations and nice to meet you all!

-S

Hey, I’m not a weirdo foreigner, I’m an executive foreigner. Honest, I am.

The smart ones among us stick to the Internet. Never trust a foreigner you meet on the street. They just want to steal your daughter away and take your tax money when they get free treatment for N7N9. :bow:

Never trust a hippy…

He’ll sell you bad drugs…

Oh, yeah, keep it comin!!!

I am always suspicious when people are trying to describe others in terms of quality.
It sounds a little like a consumable product.

I am very low quality since my dad was graded only B3 or something like that during WW2.

Yeah! You are the master!
Keep approving/disapproving!

I am going to the butcher now and purchase some high quality meat.

Isn’t the stereotype that Asia is awash in low-grade foreigners that couldn’t hack it in their home countries? Don’t mistake opinionated, articulate, and outspoken for “smart” :wink:

Like the stereotype that Asian students in Britain, my country, are the thick kids who have to buy a foreign degree because they only get into third rate schools back home?

It’s not the 90s anymore. The pay and conditions in Taiwan are very poor for many foreigners in Taiwan. It’s hardly a boomtown.

Wait, isn’t the stereotype nerds like me get to see their first naked woman in Asia because the local ladies even accept our kin here?