Question about how to properly thank a Taiwanese individual

So, I am new to the island and for the past 3 weeks I have been staying at someone else house. This individual met one of my friends on a trip they did to another country and shared a couple meals together. My friend put me in touch with this individual and he was gracious enough to invite me to dinner and let me live in his fathers place (with the whole family) for three weeks, for free. He has also helped me with EVERYTHING i needed (paperwork, tours of my uni, tours of night markets). I am still blown away by the hospitality he has shown me. So i need to know the proper way to thank him without being rude.

I have already bought a couple of boxes of candy, and will be giving him a handmade souvenir from my country as well. I will also write him a letter. My question is should i put a couple thousand NT in the envelope or will doing that be taken as a rejection of the hospitality that he has shown me.

Thanks for the suggestions that I hope will follow.

Cheerio…

AN old saying, guests are like fish, they start to smell after a few days.

Buy an unexpected gift, just make sure it’s not a clock. Cash gifts are good for weddings.

Definitely don’t give money or white flowers or a clock though I’m, not sure anyone really needs to be told not to give a clock.

Take them out to a fancy restaurant. Give them a gift, nicely wrapped so it looks expensive. They won’t open it in front of you as is the custom here.

But normally a big meal that you pay for is a way to thank people.

Yep! A big meal, plus that thing from your country, and also those nice big boxes of fruit from the local fruit market are always appreciated.

seconded. pls dont give money.

gestures are important but money in this case can cheapen .

gestures means fruit box (nice ones) , dinner at a nice place.