Question: Paid Annual Leave

Hey Everyone,

I’m new to teaching in Taiwan. I work as a Foreign English Teacher at three public elementary schools. My main school which handles paying me my salary and signing off on my paid leave told me they didn’t know how many days they could give me for paid leave (the contract says I am entitled to 12 days of paid annual leave). I find this pretty dodgy correct me if I’m wrong but I don’t think they can decide to change how many days I get for paid leave. I’m still waiting for lawyers to contact me about this but I thought I would ask about it here as well. I apologize for sounding like a noob but what options do I have-- if I have to fight them for my full entitled paid leave?. And what happens to the days you didn’t use?. I’ve done plenty of research but not sure how relevant they are to my case now.

I would reach out and bring your contract to your local labour affairs centre before going to any lawyers.

They can definitively tell you if it is correct or not under the Labour Standards Act. And they are free.

2 Likes

You have a contract. It says 12 days paid leave. Your school doesn’t decide how many days they’ll let you take. They can, however, request that you take the leave during school breaks. But you’re entitled to your 12 days

They can also just read the Labor Standards Act, as minimum leave with respect to service period is literally written in there (Article 38).

12 days probably exceeds what’s written in the LSA though (judging from what OP wrote about being new here), so I guess this is more of a contractual thing like @nz said.

That is right, but it can be easy to confuse as some articles only apply to salaried workers. Especially about vacation.

For least confusion, I always recommend to talk to Labour Affair Centre officials.

Since when are public school teachers covered by the LSA?

(Still, Marco is right that contacting the labor department is a good idea.)