Questions about teaching a very young student

A little bit of a background, I’ve been working in this cram school for three years now.This year I decided to accept the full time position as they pay was nice. All of my students are between 7 and 12 years old. My boss just told me that I would be teaching his son in a one on one class during my free time in the afternoon. Normally this wouldn’t be a problem except his son is two years old.

Now from what I understand and read on here it is illegal to teach kids under 5 or 6 English in a kindergarten. I brought this concern up with my boss who insists that it is legal since we are in a cram school. He has also threatened to fire me over it. I know I need to start looking for a new job, but does anyone have the law that says whether it’s illegal or not to teach a kid that young?

in short, teaching at kinder is illegal, and teaching kinder age kids at buxiban is legal.

Some links in the post may be dead, in that case, please Google to find them.

I’m still having a little bit of a hard time finding the right thing. In the post you linked it says teaching kinder aged kids is legal if the class is rythm or artistic class. My class would be teaching English or reading stories to the kid, which I don’t think is artistic. Does that mean the class is illegal?

It also says in the post that the admendment about the art classes didn’t pass. I couldn’t find any more information about it from Google or anything in the Supplementary Education Act.

what says this? Iirc, there still is no law saying this.

there is a draft to amend the Supplementary Education Act to make it allow just art kind classes for kindy age kids, but it has not yet passed the legislative yuan, so there is no restriction yet what can be taught to them at buxiban, iirc.