Questions on visa issues

Hey guys, im new to the board, but ive been living in taipei for about half a year now.

I was born in LA, so i have american citizenship. I currently hold an American Passport and a Taiwan Passport (non-resident, which allows me to stay in taiwan for 3 months at a time). Both my parents have dual citizenship (taiwan and american) and reside in LA. i also have many family members here in taiwan.

I graduated last summer and im here to work. I am in the process of trying to get my “open work permit”. i have read through some of the threads here and please correct me if i am wrong about the process i am going to need to take.

Documents i have: American passport, Taiwan passport (Non-resident), Medical exam from an approved hospital in taiwan, FBI criminal background check on the way (already sent application in and will get approved/translated), parents have “residence certificates” etc.

I am under the impression that i need to apply for an ARC, then get the APRC, then the Open work permit.

I am currently working for a major corporation (off the books, because i have an important friend who has brought me in), however i will be applying to other major corporations/banks and they will not Sponsor me for the “Employer work permit”. from what ive seen, they will only hire you if you are already able to work in taiwan, hence why i need the “open work permit”

Also, i have an uncle who has his own large company in taiwan. would i be able to get him to get me a “Employer work permit”, but use it to work at another company. or does that work permit confine u to the company that applied for you?

Sorry if this is alot to ask, but alot of people tell me different things at different departments :loco: