Racism?

Hi, this is my first time posting on the forums, but as I was going through the possibility of studying Mandarin in Taiwan and I came up with a question I couldn’t find an answer to. Is there any significant racism in Taiwan. I mean I know there’s racism every where in the world and it cant be helped, but am I going to have a hard time making friends, or even possibly dating in Taiwan cause of skin color. Im somewhat of a hybrid male in that im Trinidadian(West Indian)+African-American+many other ethnicity’s… and have brown skin. Im just trying to figure how what to expect, Am I going to be stared at all the time, ignored?, insulted?, have tough time meeting people?, girls?. Any help or insight would be appreciated!

Thanks

As you already pointed out, racism is everywhere, especially on Forumosa :stuck_out_tongue: (j/k)

Depending on how you interact with the locals, if you are friendly they will be friendly to you too, if ya arrogant than well…

Some will speak behind your back, because of your skin color. There are still not so many colored people in Taiwan (from my own experience). BUT they wont harness you in public, they wont say things like ape, Negro (sorry for those words, dont take it personally) or whatsoever shit to your face, unless they like to get beaten up :slight_smile:… you might hear words like Hei gui (black ghost), dont take it personal, they call Caucasians Baigui (white ghost) or Adoa (taiwan. for foreigner) …

To sum up, always depends on how you interact with the locals…

Have fun in Taiwan :slight_smile:

[quote=“guanbatt”]