Rate my chances?

First off hello.

EFL teachers may recognise the name :slight_smile:

Anyway I would like an honest appraisal of my chances in Taiwan.

Iā€™m a UK born Chinese (parents from 1965 Hong Kong) Iā€™m nearly 34. I could mingle in a crowd in Hong Kong and youā€™d be hard pushed to pick me out. This does mean I am mostly Cantonese literate. I can talk to people all day in Cantonese and read newspapers and write traditional Chinese. Iā€™ve been told the stroke order is incorrect as I always prefer the vertical strokes as opposed to the horizontal ones. Cantonese people think I talk funny sometimes because I use slang and colloquialisms which havenā€™t been used in decades and sometimes mix my dialects when I donā€™t focus.

I hold a UK passport.

I have an undergraduate degree in economics and English lit . CELTA, a PGCE-M (level 7) in teaching English in high schools and 6th form colleges. Iā€™m just about to finish off my MA in education.

Iā€™ve been teaching in the UK for about 5 years now. Primarily 6th form colleges, council adult education services and some university pre-seasonal EAP pay is good when there is work around. The problem is work is scarce due to budget cuts everywhere. Jobs in 6th form that used to pay Ā£23 now pay Ā£16.

I spoke to a couple of DELTA holders and they recommend getting some overseas work experience to compliment my CV.

So what are my chances of anything decent in Taiwan? I am well aware that there will be discrimination. I faced it when I travelled to Hong Kong a few years ago. Many places agreed to meet me but said the vacancy had been filled once I arrived.

Thanks for reading.

Apply to the British Council.

I hear thatā€™s a pretty sweet gig.

Now that they scoured out all the Welshers.

I hear thatā€™s a pretty sweet gig.

Now that they scoured out all the Welshers.[/quote]

Just like to say, I didnā€™t ā€˜Recommendā€™ your post. The layout of this site is shit.