Recommend books to make me smart-like

I majored in Chinese studies in college, and I can’t help but feel I’ve missed out on learning some things that are common knowledge to other people. I’m fishing for suggestions in regards to textbook-like materials to give myself a generalized primer on:

[]Economics
[
]Politics / International relations

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated. :thumbsup:

The fact that this thread is in the A & E forum would make one think of more items involving literature that entails prose, drama and poetry.

However, if you want my honest opinion about political texts I would start with this basic reading list:
goodreads.com/shelf/show/pol … philosophy
That might entail too much reading, and too many items to peruse. Why not start somewhere small, such as this?
iep.utm.edu/polphil/

Economics is a load of utter twaddle. I read an A-level textbook once, thinking it would be useful, and gave up in disgust halfway through. I tried The Internets, and discovered that those childishly simple models with no obvious practical application do, in fact, represent current thought. Anything more advanced is still a subject of intense debate - for example, economists still can’t accurately describe what money is, which you would imagine is a bit like a chemist not knowing how an atom works. If you have a Kindle, you can subscribe to The Economist for free (use Calibre to download - completely legit), and read new twaddle every week. It also contains a lot of twaddle about politics, so you can kill two birds with one stone.

Frankly, I’d stick with Chinese. 蘋果日報, maybe.