Recommended Books

Hi,

Just wondering what books you’d recommend to give a general overview of teaching methodology and practice. I’m not a beginner but don’t have any teacher training so something about classroom managment, presentation techniques etc should fit the bill.

Also, could you recommend a good grammar “bible”.

Thanks.

For teaching, especially in classroom management: Harry Wong’s The First Days of School

For grammar: Practical English Usage by Michael Swan

Here are a few titles that I really like:

A Course in Language Teaching by Penny UR

Learning Teaching by Jim Scrivener

Preparing Lessons and Courses by Tessa Woodward

Diane Larsen Freeman has written a very good book introducing various methodologies. It’s called Techniques and Principles in Language Teaching and should be available at Caves. Other than that, I’d suggest looking around the teachers’ resources area at Caves or Crane and looking for something that addresses your particular interests. Addresses for these stores are easily located on this site or the Net.

In terms of grammar, I’d recommed Azar’s Understanding and Using English Grammar (the blue version). Caves sells it.

As a fun aside, I recently met Betty, and she told me she taught herself English grammar by writing the book. :wink:

I really liked:
Teaching Language in Context

It’s kind of old by now, but it does a good job on ramming home its thesis.

not trying to be a prick, but if you are looking for this book, look under the name penny (u-r). it seems the auto-thingamajig shanges this to y-o-u-r.

larson-freeman is a good intro to various methods/approaches.

brown also has a pair of books available at caves - “teaching by principles” and another one (it’s purple). he’s quite popular as well.

for a more “uk” version, try harmer’s “the practice of english language teaching”.

yes, that’s right U-R, not your…thanks for the correction