Rents around the Beitou/Danshui areas

Hello Everybody.

I’m an English teacher in Spain, and for obvious reason I’m thinking of jacking it in here and making the move to Taiwan (my wife is Taiwanese, among other reasons). I plan on waiting until late summer/early winter, and getting myself a job in central Taipei. However, I don’t much want to live there, and I was thinking about finding a place North of Taipei (I’ve been to both Beitou and Dan-shuei and I quite like those places).

Two questions; firstly, are rents in these areas much cheaper than downtown Taipei? Could anyone give me a ballpark figure for, say, a 3 or 4 bedroomed house/apartment (one thing I remember about Taipei is the distinct proliferation of apartments and lack of houses - is this accurate?).

Secondly, is a daily commute into the city a feasible plan from, say, Dan-shuei? It’s been a long time since I made the MRT journey and I can’t remember how long it takes.

Muchos gracias amigos.

When I was looking I remember seeing a nice apartment in Tamsui that was maybe 20-30% cheaper than what I ended up finding in Xindian. But you had to commute by bus to Tamsui station, and from there if I remember correctly it’s one hour down to Taipei Main.

1 Like

Thanks, that’s a lot longer than I expected. Still, it’s do-able I suppose. I wouldn’t bother my arse getting on a bus though - wouldn’t a scooter be a better option?

1 Like

Sure, there also seems to be a fair amount of youbikes in the area.

1 Like

It depends where he wants to live. Danshui has three MRT stations and the first Taipei MRT station is Guandu. From Zhuwei, it’s 40 minutes max by bus(756) or MRT. It will be more expensive than inner Danshui for sure.

It’s also as low as 25 minutes to Xinpu on the 947.

Zhuwei grants the best of both Danshui and Taipei low travel times but you pay for it.

Danhai can be as low as $13000 for a two bedroom flat.

3 Likes