Rep Office for Digital Nomad - Questions!

Hi Everyone,

I’ve seen a few mentions of both Representative Offices and digital nomads on the forums, but I figured I’d try for a direct answer here.

I’m a copywriter/marketing consultant looking to try out the digital nomad lifestyle, and I’m thinking of Taiwan to set up base in SE Asia. (I won’t get into my pros/cons list here, but you’re welcome to try to talk me out of it).

I understand that I can do visa runs basically indefinitely, but for certain things it’s just going to be better to have an ARC. However both my wife and I are planning on working freelance remotely, and have no desire to get a local job (teaching english or otherwise). So, the whole “set up a rep office” thing piqued my interest.

As I understand it reading through some of the older threads, the process is fairly straightforward and inexpensive. My plan would be to set up a USA-based S-corp (or possibly LLC) and then set up a rep office in Taiwan for that.

So my questions are:

• Has anyone here successfully set up a Rep Office as a “digital nomad” (full time freelancer) and gotten an ARC with it? If so:
  • What type of foreign entity did you set up to represent and where?
  • What local activity do you do to “represent” your company and keep your status?’
  • Do you need a corporation, or is an LLC “enough” of a legal entity to form a rep office?
  • Is there a better path to residency as a digital nomad that I missed?

Thanks!

If I remember correctly, if you are an employee of the rep office you can get a work permit, but the permit is only good for things like signing contracts and marketing; you can’t actually generate revenue under a rep office. I think you need a branch office for that. Also there is the NT$3M revenue requirement in the first year.
Can someone confirm those?

1 Like

If it’s NT$3M he will qualify for the gold card.