Rewriting Contract

I have been asked to rewrite a contract for a school that closely adheres to Taiwan law. I am not entirely familiar with labor law in Taiwan, and so I need help with ascertaining the legality of a few articles that I have found within the contract, some of which appear to be clangers.

1. In the event of a breach of contract that warrants termination, the school can withhold one month’s salary. Basically, if you are fired for X reason in breach of contract, whatever that reason may be, they don’t have to pay you for your last month of work. This seems farcical because while I have no experience with Taiwan’s labor law, I graduated in law back in the UK and studied some of UK employment law.

2. They have a pension fund, and if you are entitled to claim on it, but you die, your spouse only gets half and they keep the rest.

3. There are no articles within the contract that represent statutory days for personal or sick leave. Nor maternity or paternity leave.

4. The Chinese version overrules the English version if there are discrepancies in translation.

[quote=“Reaperjim”]I have been asked to rewrite a contract for a school that closely adheres to Taiwan law. I am not entirely familiar with labor law in Taiwan, and so I need help with ascertaining the legality of a few articles that I have found within the contract, some of which appear to be clangers.

1. In the event of a breach of contract that warrants termination, the school can withhold one month’s salary. Basically, if you are fired for X reason in breach of contract, whatever that reason may be, they don’t have to pay you for your last month of work. This seems farcical because while I have no experience with Taiwan’s labor law, I graduated in law back in the UK and studied some of UK employment law.

2. They have a pension fund, and if you are entitled to claim on it, but you die, your spouse only gets half and they keep the rest.