Road from Wulai to Yilan (台9甲) closed?

Does anyone know whether this mountain road is been reopened? I know it was temporarily closed in October last year but I’d like to know the conditions now. Is there a specific number I can call to have up to date information on the road conditions?

A friend of mine told me he went from Wulai to Yilan using that road a while back on a scooter. Does someone haev any experience riding a scooter on mountains roads in Taiwan? How safe is that, really? I have a 125cc in good conditions and I’m a fairly good driver (no accidents in all the years I’ve been driving, both in Taiwan and back home in Europe). Also, I would be riding with my gf, so two people on the scooter. In your opinion, is this doable or is it a death wish?

Thank you ~~~~

riding on scoots can be safe as long as you are a safe driver. Having a passenger means ur scoot is not as manueverable (sp) tho. DId u see that clip of the guy with his gal on a scoot coming round the bend and going in front of this big truck? Lucky they survived but almost didnt

Id take the train really.

Reached this road from the Yilan side, there’s a police station and a turnpike. Closed. Some luxgens did pass though, so with the right kind of permit… who knows.

[quote=“tommy525”]riding on scoots can be safe as long as you are a safe driver. Having a passenger means your scoot is not as manueverable (sp) tho. DId u see that clip of the guy with his gal on a scoot coming round the bend and going in front of this big truck? Lucky they survived but almost didnt

Id take the train really.[/quote]

I’ve seen that video. Luckily I’m not the kind of driver who would do something as stupid as overtaking someone on a mountain road just before a blind turn. :no-no:
I’ll try that by myself first and see how it turns out. I know the train is much safer and more comfortable, but I really wantend to check this route out.