Routine Car Maintenance

I’ve been driving a '92 Ford Telstar for the last six months and so far have had no mechanical problems at all. However, since the car has over 255,000km I am a bit concerned about potential future problems. In six months, I’ve changed the oil once, patched a flat tire, refilled the brake and cooling fluid but have done nothing else.

I will admit my knowledge of cars is basically nothing. Reading a thread about routine scooter maintenance and seeing people discuss the need to change spark plugs, transmission fluid and a host of other things quite regularly made me wonder if there are similar things that need to be done on a car. The previous owner took excellent care of it; he has given me his repair log. But I’m wondering:

Is there any other routine maintenance I should be performing on such an old car?

Apologies if this has been discussed before, but thanks in advance for any advice.

[quote=“barfomcgee”]I’ve been driving a '92 Ford Telstar for the last six months and so far have had no mechanical problems at all. However, since the car has over 255,000km I am a bit concerned about potential future problems. In six months, I’ve changed the oil once, patched a flat tire, refilled the brake and cooling fluid but have done nothing else.

I will admit my knowledge of cars is basically nothing. Reading a thread about routine scooter maintenance and seeing people discuss the need to change spark plugs, transmission fluid and a host of other things quite regularly made me wonder if there are similar things that need to be done on a car. The previous owner took excellent care of it; he has given me his repair log. But I’m wondering:

Is there any other routine maintenance I should be performing on such an old car?

Apologies if this has been discussed before, but thanks in advance for any advice.[/quote]