Rude Taiwanese co-worker

I’m having difficulty with a local co-worker. I’ve lived/studied/worked in five countries on three continents, with English being my mother tongue. I got my degree from an Ivy League university and have a lot of work experience.

This co-worker speaks broken English, and has never left Taiwan to work. When I don’t understand what they are saying in English and say so, he gets quite aggressive even by Taiwanese standards, saying: “It is not difficult to understand.” or “What is your problem?”

Perhaps I am too professional, but I don’t attack him back and instead focus on the English being difficult to understand. How are we supposed to work together if he gets hostile when I ask him to explain himself?

In terms of years of work experience, he is >10 years my junior and in terms of quality of work experience, even less so. So in the Asian culture of respecting seniors, it is even more rude. It isn’t appropriate even for a boss to treat the company janitor this way.

Any other foreigners here experience this type of unnecessary vitriol from Taiwanese co-workers? What is the reason for it? Jealousy? Feeling threatened? What is the best way to deal with it? Give the boss an ultimatum of either: put him in line or I leave?

5 Likes

All that goes out the window if you are a foreigner.

IMO.

10 Likes

You’re basically saying he has poor English, which would be an offensive remark to anybody, especially since he has presumably spent many years learning to speak your language even though he isn’t living in your country.

Maybe instead of “I don’t understand you”, try “can you repeat that?” next time.

6 Likes

I’ve never experienced it. How are you handling his English?

He hasn’t learned it for the OP’s sake. You’re acting like he learned it for him.

2 Likes

Not what I was suggesting. Don’t be so literal.