Running a Magazine

So I’ve been running a magazine for about 3 1/2 years now. Bilingual. Monthly. Free. 36 pages. 8000 copies. Ostensibly island-wide. I have what seems to be a loyal readership and lots of people tell me how grateful they are that I continue to do this work for Taiwan. It’s nice, warm-hearted stuff and it make me feel pretty good. And I absolutely love doing it.

Trouble is, the thing is going to ruin me.

The magazine in question (Highway 11) is financed entirely by advertising. I have tried to keep rates as low as possible but most people balk at our prices (those that do buy are almost unanimously happy with the advertising).Our rates, as far as I know, are some of the lowest on the island.

However, paper prices are through the roof and distribution costs about a third of my printing cost. Printing and distribution alone are setting me back over NT$100,000 per month. I’m never able to consistently cover that cost with my advertising. With winter on the way (low season) things could go from bad to disaster in a hurry.

I like what I do. I think I’m reasonably good at it, but I’m just having a hell of a time trying to make it work as a viable money-making (or at least not money-losing) business. I have entertained the thought of shutting the print version of the magazine down and moving strictly to the website but the site doesn’t generate the hits that would be necessary to lure advertising in any REAL quantity. True, I could spend more time ensuring more people visit, but I’d want to make the transition seamless. And websites aren’t the same as a magazine, really.