Safe on the road if I drive safely?

Hi all, long time lurker first time poster. Apologies if this is posted in the wrong section.

I’m constantly being told by both local and foreign friends that driving or scooting on the roads, even in Taipei, is really unsafe. I’ve read up on some pretty bad stories here too, but it seems that despite this unanimous assessment, those self-same locals and foreigners are still driving and scooting. Are they as unreasonable as those who drive recklessly on the road? Or is it actually possible to be safe, if one takes the necessary precautions?

For context, I’m thinking of getting a scooter to commute daily from a 新店/烏來 mountainside apartment to 師大 as, while I love the city, I don’t love rent and cramped spaces.

I’ll be going for my scooter license next week, I have no experience driving a scooter, but I’ve never had an accident that I’ve caused while driving a car in Australia for the past 10 years.

Thanks!

I drive a car and pass by on average one scooter accident a day. Can’t quite remember but I think 4 or 5 in one day was the record. I drove a lot that day.

Haven’t seen too many that looked very serious - blood and guts on road - most of them the riders are standing up already.

But you do read and watch on TV daily scooter deaths

25 years scooting, never an accident, touch wood. Safe as houses. Just develop mad peripheral vision and anticipate everything you can.

5 Likes

No matter how safe you are, there are others who are not safe and you cannot protect against them.

Could simply be sitting at a stoplight and someone plows through you from behind.

4 Likes

OP, the above is excellent advice, especially because it feels like a large number of local drivers don’t do this. I’ve been driving a scooter for ten years here in wild Taoyuan and have had two injury accidents requiring ambulance rides to the hospital.