⛵ Sailing | Sailing in Taiwan

I own a sailboat located in Xinta harbor near Tainan, just next to Anping . I get my Taiwan license and I practice once a week but I am still a beginner. I am looking for someone with little experience to come with me sometimes, during the week or the week end .
The ship is a 9 meters long , 6 places.

Typical trip could be penghu ( 2 days)…

3 Likes

I’m thinking about getting a licence too. Can you write a bit about the process involved? Are the classes/exams available in english?

Hi ,

You must first register on class, there are quite a lot ( Taipei , Taoyuan, Keelung, Kaohsiung… Almost every big harbor ) and follow course in Mandarin once or twice a week.
The practical part, drive a boat, is provide by the school too.
The good news is that , if the courses are in Mandarin , the exam for you will be in English and since one year, the manual containing the exam questions ( around 700 questions ) is available in English . ( Me, when i pass the exam , the manual was in mandarin and i must translate all ).

The exam consist on 2 parts the same day : One practical side : You must drive the boat around the harbor in doing some maneuvers : turn, go back, park, put you in position for pick up a MOB…
second part , theory … 50 questions ( in English ) …taken from the questions manual containing 700 questions … you can do only 5 mistakes.
So in fact … you need to memorize the manual and the 700 questions …

if you succeed the 2 parts… You get license… if you suceed only one part, you need to pass the second part again inside one year…

The manual containing all the questions is available on line .

Wayyy better than sitting around a Christmas tree with boring family …

1 Like

sailing clubs or places to learn sailing in Taiwan?

1 Like

Before you learn to sail, you’ll need to learn to operate a boat, and have a boating license. I would start there, if you haven’t done so already.

In case you haven’t yet: